Johan Björklund – ”Pjäxeröd 2.0” 2023

Release date 3 November 2023. Label: Eternal Darkness Record (EDR001)
Recorded mainly 2021-2023 at Studio Eternal Darkness, Gothenburg, Sweden by Johan Björklund. 
Grand piano on ”Ghosts of Pjäxeröd” recorded 2022 at Vänersborgs Museum, Sweden by Johan Björklund. 
Additional field recordings 2021 at HSM, Gothenburg, Sweden by Arve Henriksen. 
Additional individual recordings by Arve Henriksen, Thomas Markusson, John Lönnmyr and Thomas Gunillasson 2021-2023. 
Mixed at Studio Zen, Gothenburg and Vänersborg, Sweden by Kristofer Göransson with assistance of Johan Björklund. 
Produced by Johan Björklund. 
Mastered at Studio Zen, Vänersborg, Sweden by Kristofer Göransson. 
Photos of trees and landscapes by Johan Björklund. 
Photo of Johan by Therese Kjellstorp. 
Photo edits by Therese Kjellstorp. 
Cover and booklet by Thomas Gunillasson. 
With financial support from The Swedish Arts Council.

Embracing and finding inspiration/irritation in my youth and background on the Swedish countryside is the source for creating this music. 
Ever since starting my journey in music as a kid this has been an integral part in everything I have done, the fact that I grew up in a certain, really special place in Sweden. The cultural, social and geographical background is there whether you want it or not. These conditions forms you in certain ways, for good and for something to explore, challenge and be challenged by. And the nature! Such a beautiful place that I see with totally new eyes now as an older and perhaps wiser person. 
An old word for nomad/beggar in Swedish is Piekker and the farm were I grew up from 5 years old, is called Pjäxeröd (in really old days “Piegs Rudi”, the beggars place), close to the village of Hedekas in North East Bohuslän, Sweden. 
I am no beggar but definitely a curious and adventurous nomad.

A majority of the music created in Pjäxeröd 2.0 comes from a close collaboration with musician/composer Arve Henriksen (trumpet/electronics/voice).
The basic workflow was either recorded sessions where we played, improvised, discussed, experimented with different sound sources/instruments etc and then it continued with sending audio files, edits and remixes of the recorded work back and forth. It could also start with someone of us sending a soundfile or another type of idea and then the music evolved from that exchange.
After that I have invited different musicians to add what they feel can contribute to the music. With few or no guidelines I have left it to them with full artistic freedom. 
Then the great puzzle of sound files, effects and more recordings has resulted in the music presented here. 


Johan Björklund – drums, electronics, nord drum, synth, rhodes, grand piano, electric guitar, electric bass, objects etc
Arve Henriksen – trumpet, voice, electronics
Thomas Markusson – double bass, electronics
Armand van Wijck – chromatic harmonica
Maria Palmqvist – voice
John Lönnmyr – synth, organ
Thomas Gunillasson – electric guitar


Apple Music