The musical collective of Thymeshift are now expanding the term ”big band music”. Carefully selected guests/composers are invited to join the universe of Thymeshift to create a powerful and enchanting music that reflects the times of today.
Since the start in 2010 Thymeshift has been treading the borderlands between rock/jazz/electronica.Together with Icelandic guitarist Hilmar Jensson the group released the album ”Beyond Horizons” in 2015 and the latest release ”Dark Lights” 2021 concluded the collaboration with Danish keyboardist Katrine Amsler.

In 2019 the idea of putting together a larger band with selected favorite players came about. A ”Thymeshift United” project. 
With support from Musikverket, the project became reality in October 2020 in the midst of the pandemic, but before the restrictions fully kicked in. The repertoire of the band was revitalized with a different feel.
Added to that, the new members brought their own tunes which created a dynamic and unique sound where the sum became larger than its parts.The band performed a tour in Sweden which was concluded by an intense day at Svenska Grammofonstudion in Gothenburg where this actual album ”Music Outside Boxes” was recorded.

Johan Björklund – drums, percussion
Mats Eriksson – guitar
Anders Augustsson – guitar
Anne Marte Eggen – electric bass
Lisen Rylander Löve – saxophone
Malin Wättring – saxophone
Thomas Backman – saxophone
John Lönnmyr – keyboards
Thomas Gunillasson – guitar (5, 6, 8)
Katrine Amsler – sampling (6)

THYMESHIFT – DARK LIGHTS release 26 March 2021

Release 26 March 2021 on Imogena Records. Available on all major streaming platforms and CD.

Buy the record here:

Katrine Amsler – keyboards, electronics, laptop, voice
Johan Björklund – drums, keyboards, percussion, bass, treatments, voice
Thomas Gunillasson – guitar, laptop, treatments, voice
Thomas Backman – saxophone, clarinet, voice

1. Break the Silence (Amsler)
2. Dark Lights (Amsler/Björklund/Gunillasson/Backman)
3. Youth Country (Gunillasson)
4. Quiet Music for Large Ensemble 4 (Amsler)
5. Östbjörka Dub (Trad. Arr: Gunillasson)
6. Average Speed (Amsler)
7. Minst (Björklund)
8. Khroma (Björklund/Gunillasson)
9. Displacements (Amsler/Björklund/Gunillasson/Backman)
10. Quiet Music for Large Ensemble 3 (Amsler)
11. Moonday (Gunillasson)
12. Soft Transition into Dark Lights (Amsler/Björklund/Gunillasson)

Thymeshift is an impro/jazz/rock/electronic oriented musical collective founded in 2010 by Swedish musicians Johan Björklund, Thomas Gunillasson and Thomas Backman. Around them, different guests have gathered for projects of various kinds through the years. In 2015 the band released their debut album (Beyond Horizons) with Icelandic guitarist Hilmar Jensson. In 2015 they also formed the project The Sonic E with DJ Jonas Färnlöf. The project resulted in an album release 2017 (Dope Regards). In 2020 the band has been working as an extended unit with several other musicians forming a mini Big Band called Thymeshift United. An album release is planned in the fall of 2021 (Music Outside Boxes).
Besides recording, the band has of course made countless of live performances in every project constellation
Live performance/interaction is the core of all the Thymeshift projects!

On ”Dark Lights” Thymeshift has invited Danish keyboard player/composer and instrument innovator Katrine Amsler.
This unit takes the music in directions unheard of before, combining strong improvisations, electronic moods with cinematic soundscapes all performed with a raw rock edge. The melodic tunes and adventurous improvisations takes the listener for a rollercoaster ride through Dark and Light. Inside and out.

The Musicians involved can be heard in several groups from Sweden/Denmark like Klabbes Bank, Television Pickup, Dynamic Flavours, Monochromatics, Dundret, Lindha Kallerdahl Gold, Shitney and more!
With support from Swedish Arts Council