Disturbance – Tribal Elektronix

Photo©Magnus Bergström 2019

EKO IN GOTHENBURG proudly presents:
(Release date: 2 dec 2019) 
All since the day when the 11-year old version of me was exposed to my first live music experience of Bohus Bataljon (Bohuslän Big Band nowadays), I have been obsessed with drums and rhythms.
And I will continue to be until I take my last breath…
After 20+years work as a drummer/leader/composer in different bands and projects I have formed this outlet of artistic expression called Disturbance. The first attempt started already in 2006 and resulted in the demo project/record ”Manipulated” that never was released. Until now I have to add, you can stream it online from 15 nov 2019 as a kind of teaser for my ”real” release. 

On this new release ”Tribal Elektronix” I have turned myself inside out and used a big part of my instrument collection located in my studio ”Eternal Darkness” in Gothenburg. Inviting carefully selected friends has opened up new pathways both for them and myself. I am eternally grateful for their generous contributions to the music and I think you can hear the love and dedication put in from them. The project has had many artistic rules (set up by me) and one important has been that nobody got to prepare themselves, just create to what they heard in the headphones. To capture the fresh and really creative performances.And you know what? I think it turned out really good! 
Please enjoy this sweet Disturbance called ”Tribal Elektronix”
Johan Björklund – Gothenburg, november 2019

Thanks to: Kristofer Göransson, Dona Tarokh, Anders Augustsson, Erik Ivarsson, Anna Bylund, Thomas Gunillasson, Mike Lloyd,Håkan Hellquist, John Lönnmyr, Signe Björklund, Carl Svensson, Henrik Gadelli, Farzaneh Moslehi, Hans Olsson Brookes,Magnus Bergström, Lisen Rylander Löve, Lisa Nordström, Johan Westergren, Christina Ärlestig, Ali Reza Tarokh, Sensus, Ableton Live, Yellofier, The Swedish Arts Grants Committee. 

Johan Björklund – drumset, percussion, african drums, gran cassa, handclaps, kalimba, electric guitar, electric bass, nordlead, korg m1, norddrum, programming, treatments, sampling, voice, growl
Thomas Gunillasson – electric guitar, ableton live remix
Mike Lloyd – trumpet
Dona Tarokh – voice
Farzaneh Moslehi – voice
Signe Björklund – voice
Erik Ivarsson – lap steel
Håkan Hellquist – electric guitar
Anders Augustsson – electric guitar
Anna Bylund – voice
John Lönnmyr – fender rhodes
Carl Svensson – electric guitar
Kristofer Göransson – synth arpeggioator
Midaircondo (Lisen Rylander Löve & Lisa Nordström) – sample from live performance. Used with permission from the artists  
All compositions by Johan Björklund 

Recorded, edited and pre-mixed by Johan Björklund, Studio Eternal Darkness, Gothenburg January 2018 – August 2019
Mixed by Kristofer Göransson, Studio Zen, Gothenburg, August-September 2019
Mastered by Hans Olsson Brookes, Svenska Grammofonstudion, Gothenburg, October 2019
Press and cover photos by Magnus Bergström
Cover painting by Cristina Ärlestig
Cover design by Johan Björklund
Produced by Johan Björklund.
Made in Sweden 

Dedicated to the loving memory of Thommy Larsson (1973-2019)  

Press contact / info:
Johan Björklund+46 706784275


After a real nice summer with some touring done (Celso Paco & Dynamo de Luxe, Parallel Activity, Thymeshift and others), September brings a lot of studio work and preparations for upcoming stuff.
Final mix of my solo-record ”Disturbance – Tribal Elektronix” in Studio Zen with Kristofer Göransson.
Mastering of Monochromatics – ”KnockOut” done by Hans Olsson Brookes.
Recording of new album with Parallel Activity in Beard Sound Studio with Johan Håkansson.
Later this winter: tour in Israel with Emil Bashari, tour in Sweden with Dynamic Flavours and kick-off for megaproject Thymeshift United with Lisen Rylander Löwe, Malin Wättring, Samuel Hällkvist and Anne Marte Eggen.
Splendid Times!

Thymeshift – Kalottjazz Tornio (FI) 29 june 2019

Hello again world! We are really happy to give you some good news: Kalottjazz&Blues Tornio (FI) Sat 29 June confirmed and we will this time be joined by the saxophone player Malin Wättring!!!

Thymeshift Tornio-lineup:
Thomas Gunillasson – guitar
Johan Björklund – drums
Katrine Amsler – keyboards/electronics
Malin Wättring – saxophone

We will share stage with extraordinary singer Lisa Nilsson and some other great acts! http://www.kalottjazzblues.net/kjb2019/sv/program/

Thymeshift on the road fall 2018

8 sept Munkedals Kapell
9 sept Nya Lundby Kyrka, Gothenburg
10 sept Vänersborg (school concert/workshop)
11 sept Furulundsskolan, Partille (school concert)
12 sept Alströmergymnasiet, Alingsås (school concert/workshop)
13 sept HSM Gothenburg (school concert/workshop)
14 sept Tranemo (school concert/workshop)
14 sept Tre Trappor Upp, Tranemo
29 sept Glenn Miller Café, Stockholm
6 oct Haga Church, Gothenburg

Katrine Amsler (DK) – keyboards and stuff
Thomas Gunillasson (S) – guitars and laptop
Thomas Backman (S) – reeds
Johan Björklund (S) – drums

We are also doing final recordings for a new release 2019, stay tuned!

Celso Paco & Dynamo de Luxe – Summer tour and CD-release 2018!

Summer tour 2018:
7 June Positivparken, Frölunda Kulturhus, Gothenburg
9 June Uddebofestivalen, Uddebo
18 July Parkmusiken, Varberg
19 July Hotel Koster, Strömstad archipelago
20 July Hotel Koster, Strömstad archipelago
19 August Kungsbacka Urban Summer Festival (concert & workshop)
23 August WORLD WIDE RELEASE: ”Moçambique” – Eko in Gothenburg
24 August Kafe Sjöstugan, Stockholm
25 August Hijazz, Uppsala
1 September Neferiti, Gothenburg
8 December Stallet, Stockholm

Celso Paco & Dynamo de Luxe –”Moçambique” (EKO IN GOTHENBURG)
The second album by Celso Paco & Dynamo de Luxe, “Moçambique”, is slated for release in the summer of 2018. Their acclaimed debut, ”Dugongo”, was released in 2011, and now the time has come for their next selection of Africa-inspired music with a Swedish twist.
Immersed in the rich musical traditions of Mozambique, Celso Paco, on vocals and percussion, brings this heritage to the table, and each member of the band adds their own flavours – be it pop, rock, jazz and other genres – to create a distinctive sound.
Most of the tracks are original material by the band. Interpretations of two carefully chosen covers are also featured:.
The title track, Bob Dylan’s ”Mozambique”, was given Portuguese lyrics in tribute of the country where Celso Paco grew up and began his musical journey; and ”One world, a song by The Police has a message that burns as bright as it ever did in a world full of strife and refugees.
All the original material features lyrics by Celso Paco, though Henning Mankell, known for his “Swedish Noir” bestsellers, penned the lyrics for the track ”Me”.
They were a gift to Celso Paco when the two men were working together on a theatre production at Teatro Avenida in Maputo.

Official release date: August 23, 2018.

Celso Paco – lead vocals, percussion, xylophone, kalimba, timbila
Hans Edberg – guitars, harmonica
Håkan Hellquist – guitars, vocals
Ola Hedman – bass, vocals
Johan Björklund – drums, percussion, nord drum, glockenspiel, keyboards, zither

Jamila Paco – vocals
Hedvig Slomian – vocals
Stefan Abelsson – alto saxophone
Mike Lloyd – trumpet
Björn Cedergren – tenor saxophone

Recorded at BongoRecordings by Håkan Svensson in January 2017
Additional recording and edits by Johan Björklund at Studio Eternal Darkness, January – August 2017
Mixed at Studio Zen by Kristofer Göransson October 2017 – February 2018
Mastered at Svenska Grammofonstudion Mastering by Hans Olsson Brookes, March 2018
Produced by Celso Paco & Dynamo de Luxe, co-produced by Kristofer Göransson
Made in Sweden with financial support from Swedish Art Council.